Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Jesus is the True Vine
13
0:00
-6:44

Jesus is the True Vine

John 15:1-8
13

Jesus is the True Vine - John 15:1-8

Jesus spoke in parables and gave illustrations to help people understand the relationship between God and man. In the book of John Jesus says, “I Am the True Vine” and He goes on to say that His Father God is the vinedresser or gardener of the vineyard. We, His children, are the branches that are supposed to bear fruit.

The vine is the lifeline of the plant and the branches grow from the vine. The role of the branches is to bear fruit and become more fruitful. Jesus said that the branches that bore no fruit would be cut off and those that bore fruit the Father would prune or cut back so that they could bear more fruit.

Jesus said that if we abide in Him, relying on Him and not our independent selves, and He abides in us, we would bear much fruit. Without Him, we can do nothing. Jesus wants us to have an intimate relationship with Him and as we draw our life from Him through His Word and Holy Spirit we would bear a lot of fruit.

What is the fruit that we are to bear?  In the book of Galatians (Gal. 6:22-25) the fruit of the Spirit is listed as love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. The opposite of those characteristics are works of the flesh which include adultery, hatred, jealousies, envy, murders, drunkenness, sorcery, and the like (Gal. 6:16-21). Jesus wants us to depend on Him to change our character from the flesh-driven desires of man to the character of Christ. To have a life of love, joy, and peace is so much better than a life full of anxiety and depression which is the fruit that comes from the works of the flesh. You may not be a murderer but how many times has social media made you envious of someone else’s lifestyle, looks, or things?

Why did Jesus use the term “bear” fruit and not “produce” fruit? We may think that the fruit we are to bear is saving more souls and preaching the gospel to more people. Bearing fruit comes from God working in us, and through us. Producing fruit is us trying to work for God to please Him by what we do. Our job is to believe and depend on Jesus, His Word, to help us in every area of our lives. We may go through unpleasant circumstances or a period of pruning where our Father is cutting off areas that are hindering our fruitfulness. Just like the vines, we will grow and become more fruitful. If you feel you are going through a period of pruning, stay close to Jesus who loves you so much, and know that this season will be short and you will bear more fruit from it. (Psalm 1:3)


Not subscribed? Subscribe below so you never miss a newsletter!

Thanks for reading Litwithprayer Weekly! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.


Personal Development Tip of the week: 

Last week I turned 31 and every year around my birthday I do an exercise that helps me reflect on the previous year and prepares me for the new year ahead.

As we are in our last few months of 2022, I would love to walk you through this simple exercise to help better prepare you for the year to come before it’s actually here. I mean how many of us wait till the beginning of the year to start thinking about what we want to accomplish when we could prepare for it now?

2022 Reflection Exercise:

  1. What went well for me this year?

  2. What would like like to improve on looking back on this year?

  3. What would I love to have happen for me in 2023?

Take some time to think about these questions and go through this exercise because I really do believe it will serve you as you prepare for 2023. 


Question for you? What are you most proud of when looking back on 2022? 

Leave a comment


Prayer for the week

Father God, sometimes I struggle in the area of believing. Your Word says all things are possible to him/her who believes. I’m trying to believe, but I need Your help. I know I cannot do it in my own strength, so I give You what I have, as small as it may be, believing that You will strengthen my faith and I will see my healing, my miracle, my goals and dreams come to pass and I thank You, in Jesus name, Amen. 


PS. If you would like to support us consider checking out www.litwithprayer.com and picking up our devotional prayer journal to our new pieces of Christian-based Jewelry.

Do you know Jesus?

If you have never asked Jesus to be the leader of your life and forgive you of all your sins, this is the right time to act. Pray this simple prayer and believe it in your heart: “Dear God, Your Word says that You loved me so much that You sent Your Son Jesus to die on the cross for me. I want to be saved and have all my sins forgiven, past, present, and future. Forgive me now as I receive Jesus as my personal Lord and Savior. You promised me salvation and an abundant life. I believe and receive Your free gift. Fill me with Your Holy Spirit and help me grow stronger in You each day, in Jesus name I pray, Amen.” (John 3:16)

The Lord is gracious and full of compassion, Slow to anger and abounding in lovingkindness.

13 Comments
Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Sharing Bible Stories, Personal Development Tips, and Prayers to help you continue to grow closer to God.