Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Clearing Your Vision:
4
0:00
-5:19

Clearing Your Vision:

(Matthew 7:1-5; Luke 6:41-42)
4

Clearing Your Vision: (Matthew 7:1-5; Luke 6:41-42)

Jesus spoke in many parables using stories and illustrations that even the simplest of people and children could understand. On one occasion Jesus was teaching on a subject that is very fitting for us today even in our culture.

How many times are we quick to judge and condemn others? In Matthew and Luke Jesus tells us that we should not judge or condemn others until we have looked at ourselves. He illustrates this point by saying that before we try to remove a speck in someone else's eye, we need to remove the plank that is in our own eye first so we can see clearly. He is saying that we are looking and judging others on small things, but we have much bigger things in our own hearts that could condemn us. Before we criticize others, we need to look at ourselves and remove what is not good, which may be our negative or bad attitude, hatred, jealousy, unkindness, pride, self-righteousness, impatience, and other negative thoughts or behavior. He actually called people hypocrites who didn’t judge themselves first.

Jesus says to judge not, so that we will not be judged. When we judge others we will be judged the same way. How many times are we more harsh with others but want grace and mercy for ourselves? So does Jesus not want us to use good judgment when dealing with people who may seem dishonest or untrustworthy? God wants us to be wise and use good judgment. We are to look at the fruit of the person. What does this person produce? Do they have love, kindness, patience, and other good qualities? God looks at the heart and many times we look at the outer self. We may look at someone’s attractiveness, their social standing, their money, and what appears to be good. We have to rely on the Holy Spirit to help us when it comes to dealing with people. If someone is a bad influence on your life, don’t hang around with them. The Bible gives us guidance and tells us to guard our hearts and mind.

What about others judging you? People are quick to judge and condemn and sometimes they can be your friends and family. Sometimes that person is you. Have you ever beaten yourself up emotionally or mentally because of mistakes or bad choices and behaviors? We all do, but thanks be to God, He knows your heart and He loves you so much. So whenever you want to criticize or condemn someone, look at yourself first. Clear your vision, so you can help others. If you are criticizing and condemning yourself, know that Jesus came to save and help you, not to condemn you. See yourself the way Jesus sees you, His child, forgiven, righteous through Him, and deeply loved and highly favored.


Not subscribed? Subscribe below so you never miss a newsletter!

Thanks for reading Litwithprayer Newsletter! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.


Personal Development Tip of the week: 

How do you create a vision for your life? 

In the bible it says, without a vision, the people perish (Proverbs 29:18). Setting a vision for your life and what you want your life to be about is so important because it gives you something to look forward to each day.

Here are some questions to think about when creating your own vision for your life.

  • What would you like to do every day that you enjoy?

  • How do you want to serve and impact others?

  • What are you passionate about?

  • How do you want to be perceived by others in your community?

These questions can help you start figuring out what your vision might be for your life and I highly recommend writing your vision down and you can always change it over time. 

I will give you an example of what my vision at this point in my life looks like.

My Vision: I am an encourager who leads with love, compassion, and empathy for everyone. I create videos, resources, and tools that help others grow and their relationship with God to remember who they are and that God loves them so much and has a great plan for their life.


Question for you? What is one thing you want your vision for your life to be about?

Leave a comment


Prayer for the week

Thank you, Jesus, that you are my protector when I am going through the dark valleys of life or experiencing the shadows of death caused by fear, illness, and danger. I don’t walk alone without safety because you are always with me, ready to defend and keep me safe. And when I can’t walk on my own, You carry me like a good shepherd. My confidence is in You and I will go through life with boldness and courage, in Jesus name Amen.

PS. If you would like to support us consider checking out www.litwithprayer.com and picking up our devotional prayer journal to our new pieces of Christian-based Jewelry.

Do you know Jesus?

If you have never asked Jesus to be the leader of your life and forgive you of all your sins, this is the right time to act. Pray this simple prayer and believe it in your heart: “Dear God, Your Word says that You loved me so much that You sent Your Son Jesus to die on the cross for me. I want to be saved and have all my sins forgiven, past, present, and future. Forgive me now as I receive Jesus as my personal Lord and Savior. You promised me salvation and an abundant life. I believe and receive Your free gift. Fill me with Your Holy Spirit and help me grow stronger in You each day, in Jesus name I pray, Amen.” (John 3:16)

4 Comments
Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Sharing Bible Stories, Personal Development Tips, and Prayers to help you continue to grow closer to God.