Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Fight Temptation with God’s Word
3
0:00
-6:26

Fight Temptation with God’s Word

(Luke 4:1-4)
3

Fight Temptation with God’s Word (Luke 4:1-4)

After Jesus had been baptized by John the Baptist, the Holy Spirit descended in bodily form like a dove upon Him, and a voice from heaven said,” You are My beloved Son; in You, I am well pleased.” From that moment Jesus was filled with the Holy Spirit. He was led into the wilderness where he didn’t eat anything and was tempted by the devil for forty days. The devil tempted Him in every way he could and towards the end when Jesus was hungry, He challenged Jesus to prove that He was the Son of God by commanding a stone to become bread. But Jesus only answered and said, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every Word of God.’”

Jesus was quoting scripture from Deuteronomy 8:3 when God fed the Israelites manna every morning. Manna was bread that came from heaven each day to feed the Israelites. They had to consume their daily ration and not save any for the next day. If they tried, the food would be spoiled or rotten. God was teaching them to rely on Him for their daily bread or daily needs.

When temptation came from the devil, Jesus used the Word of God against him. Jesus at this point was hungry and physically weak after not eating for forty days. Satan tried the same trick or temptation he used with Adam and Eve in the garden. He tempted Eve with forbidden fruit from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, that he said would give her wisdom and be like God. She ate of the fruit and also gave it to Adam who also ate in disobedience to God.

Jesus is referred to as the second Adam. The first Adam did not use the Word of God when tempted to eat of the fruit,  but Jesus, the second Adam, did not fall for Satan’s trickery. He used the Word of God and did not try to prove He was the Son of God by doing what Satan asked Him to do. Jesus knew Who He was and didn’t need to obey Satan’s request to prove it.

We are always faced with temptation, but do we use the Word of God to overcome it? Jesus knew Who He was and we should know who we are in Christ Jesus.  When we give our lives to the Lord, we become new creations and the children of God. Our identity is what God says who we are. We are the head and not the tail, above and not beneath, we are redeemed, we are saved, we are healed, we are a chosen and holy people, we are God’s handiwork made in His image. (Deut. 28:13; Eph 2:10)

So when you are tempted to beat yourself up for something you feel guilty about, when you are tempted to fear and be anxious, or tempted to do something you know is wrong, use the Word of God as your weapon and live a victorious life through Jesus Christ, our Savior. (Romans 8:37)


Not subscribed? Subscribe below so you never miss a newsletter!

Thanks for reading Litwithprayer Weekly! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.


Personal Development Tip of the week: 

How do you know if what you are pursuing in your life is for God’s will? I get this question a lot so I wanted to address this on this week’s podcast.

First, part of your purpose here on earth is to serve God and impact others so if you are serving and building your relationship with God you are already moving in the right direction. 

Now, what do I mean by impacting others? Well, you right now impact others every single day just by you being in the presence of other people whether that be family, friends, or coworkers.

The question you need to as yourself is, “Am I being a good influence on the people in my life?” Being a good influence on others doesn’t just mean that you have to try and convert everyone you know to your faith but are you treating people with respect, kindness, love, support, empathy, etc.

Part of your relationship with God is how you treat other people so if you can work each day to treat people with kindness and love this is one way to demonstrate your faith. Now, what about your career? I believe your career can be many different things because God puts different dreams, gifts, and skills within each of us that equip us uniquely to do something great while you are here.

I do believe these things that make us unique come from within and not from outside of you and what the world tells you you should do with your life. Part of your journey here is to try many different things and some of those things you will enjoy more and some you won’t but nothing is wasted as you are pursuing God’s plan for your life. Just know you can do many things with your life that please God as long as you are coming from a place of putting God first.

Lastly, just because what you are doing with your career at this moment might not seem big to you or others based on the world’s idea of big everything you put your hands to in your career you can do in great ways. God sees what you are doing and wants to continue to bless you in this and will give you more as you grow each day.


Question for you? What are some of your interests when it comes to your career and how do you want to impact others? 

Leave a comment


Prayer for the week

Father God, bless me as I continue to walk in your presence and fulfill the purpose you have for my life. Give me patience as I step out in faith to trust that whatever I put my hands to you will bless. Be with me today, guide me, and direct me to make good choices that impact my life in others in the most meaningful way in Jesus name Amen.


PS. If you would like to support us consider checking out www.litwithprayer.com and picking up our devotional prayer journal to our new pieces of Christian-based Jewelry.

Do you know Jesus?

If you have never asked Jesus to be the leader of your life and forgive you of all your sins, this is the right time to act. Pray this simple prayer and believe it in your heart: “Dear God, Your Word says that You loved me so much that You sent Your Son Jesus to die on the cross for me. I want to be saved and have all my sins forgiven, past, present, and future. Forgive me now as I receive Jesus as my personal Lord and Savior. You promised me salvation and an abundant life. I believe and receive Your free gift. Fill me with Your Holy Spirit and help me grow stronger in You each day, in Jesus name I pray, Amen.” (John 3:16)

3 Comments
Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Sharing Bible Stories, Personal Development Tips, and Prayers to help you continue to grow closer to God.