Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Honoring God Has Great Rewards
4
0:00
-5:37

Honoring God Has Great Rewards

Daniel 6:1- 23
4

Honoring God Has Great Rewards: Daniel 6:1- 23  

The prophet Daniel served under King Darius during the captivity of the Jews about 600 BC in the Babylonian region. Daniel was one of three governors over the region and he was greatly favored by the king. Daniel had an excellent spirit and was gifted in wisdom and could interpret dreams.

God had blessed Daniel and placed him in a very high leadership role. He was far superior in his leadership than the other governors. Because of this, the other governors and government officials were jealous of him and wanted to destroy him. They tried to find something wrong that they could use to accuse Daniel but found nothing. Daniel had great integrity and was a strong man of faith. His custom every day was to go to the upper room of his home, open the windows that faced Jerusalem, kneel, pray and give thanks to God.

The Babylonian leaders were idol worshippers and planned a strategy that could get rid of Daniel. They approached King Darius and appealed to his ego. They told the king that all of his governors, administrators, and advisors had consulted together to establish a royal law that no one can petition any god or man, except the king for a period of 30 days. If they broke the law they would be thrown into the lion’s den. The king liked the idea and he signed a decree that could not be broken according to the laws of the Medes and Persians.

Although Daniel was a governor he found out about the law after it was signed by King Darius.

Despite the new law, Daniel went home and prayed to God making petitions to Him only. He knelt down on his knees three times that day and prayed. His enemies quickly went to the king to tell him that Daniel had broken the law and he needed to be thrown into the lion's den. King Darius was so upset with himself for being tricked into hurting Daniel. He could not change the law that he had signed. King Darius knew that Daniel served the God of Israel, but that thought never crossed his mind when the other leaders were praising him.

Before Daniel was put into the lion’s den the king spoke to Daniel saying,  “Your God, whom you serve continually, He will deliver you.” Daniel was put into the lion's den and the king went to his palace, fasted all night, and could not sleep. King Darius arose early in the morning and went to the lion's den. He cried out to Daniel asking if his God was able to deliver him. Daniel replied, “O king live forever!” Immediately Daniel was taken out. He told the king that an angel from God was sent to shut the mouths of the lions and he was not hurt. The king was so happy and he had the accusers of Daniel thrown into the lion’s den. They unfortunately did not have a good ending.

King Darius made a decree honoring the God of Daniel throughout the Medo-Persian kingdom.

He declared that the God of Daniel was the living God, Who delivers and rescues, and works signs and wonders in heaven and on earth. Daniel prospered under King Darius and later under the next king, Cyrus the Persian.

The laws of God are higher than those of man. God wants us to worship Him only and not idols or other people even when it becomes a government law. Daniel disobeyed the law of the land and was punished for it, but God protected him. There are many stories in the Bible of ungodly leaders who have exalted themselves and not honored God. Daniel was not afraid to practice his faith in a foreign land. God blessed Him and God will bless you when you take a stand for your faith and not follow the ungodly ways of the world. Ask God to give you an excellent spirit like that of Daniel and give you courage to witness to others about God’s great love. ( James 1:5; Phil. 4:6 )

Personal Development Tip of the week: 

Taking time to reflect on our lives is so important. This is why I’m a huge fan of journaling and asking myself questions about many areas of my life.

I challenge you this week to ask yourself some questions and reflect and write about it.

I’ve listed a series of questions you can write down for yourself below if you need help thinking of some. 

Morning Questions:

  1. What am I happy about in my life now? 

  2. What am I excited about in my life now?

  3. What am I proud about in my life now?

  4. What am I grateful about in my life now?

  5. What am I enjoying most in my life right now?

  6. What am I committed to in my life right now?

  7. What do I love? Who loves me?

Evening Questions:

  1. What have I given today? 

  2. What did I learn today?

  3. How has today added to the quality of my life? 

Challenge yourself to really think through any of these questions and come up with at least one answer. 

Prayer for the week:  

Thank you Lord, that I have the mind of Christ as I make numerous decisions throughout my day, even the difficult ones. When I am uncertain your Holy Spirit is within me to guide and direct me. I make wise choices and good decisions. Even when I make a mistake you will turn it around for my good, in Jesus name Amen. 

-Dayne 

PS. If you would like to support us consider checking out www.litwithprayer.com and picking up our devotional prayer journal to our new pieces of Christian-based Jewelry.

4 Comments
Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Sharing Bible Stories, Personal Development Tips, and Prayers to help you continue to grow closer to God.