Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Jesus Preaches Freedom
3
0:00
-4:17

Jesus Preaches Freedom

(Isaiah 61 - Luke 4:14-20)
3

Jesus Preaches Freedom: (Isaiah 61 - Luke 4:14-20)

This week we celebrated our country’s Independence Day when the original colonies declared their freedom from British rule. We remember the sacrifices that were made to give us freedom that we enjoy today.

As followers of Jesus, we enjoy freedom from sin and remember the sacrifice that was made on the cross for our behalf. Jesus paid the price for us because He loved us and wanted us to be free from sin and have everlasting life.

When Jesus first started His ministry, He was baptized in water and then filled with the Holy Spirit. He was led into the wilderness where He was tempted by the devil for forty days. Afterward, He went about preaching and teaching with great wisdom and power. When He returned to His hometown in Nazareth, Jesus went into the synagogue on the Sabbath and was given the book of the prophet Isaiah to read. Jesus stood and read the following (Isaiah 61:18)  

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon Me,

Because He has anointed Me to preach the gospel to the poor

He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted

To preach deliverance to the captives and recovery of sight to the blind

To set at liberty those who are oppressed

To preach the acceptable year of the Lord.”

When Jesus finished reading from Isaiah 61, he stated, “Today this Scripture is fulfilled in your hearing.”

Jesus came to deliver the captives and set at liberty those who are oppressed. In John 8:32 it says, “If you continue in My word, then you are truly disciples of Mine; and you will know the truth, and the truth will make you free.” When you are struggling with challenges like addictions, self-doubt, or unbelief that God wants the very best for you and has a great plan for your life, read the truth. What does God say about your situation? As you read God’s Word, you are transforming your mind every day and becoming free from life's hindrances and challenges. (Romans 12:1) Celebrate your freedom today!


Not subscribed? Subscribe below so you never miss a newsletter!

Thanks for reading Litwithprayer Weekly! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.


Personal Development Tip of the week: 

How do you protect your mind and heart as a Christian?

This is one of the most important things you will have to work on always because there are so many external influences in this world that are fighting for your attention that are not all good for you.

The things that have helped me most guard my heart and mind are…

  1. What I focus on 

  2. Guarding my time and what I give to certain things (friends, free time, etc)

  3. Time with God every day (Prayer, bible study, church, praise and worship)

If you don’t make a concerted effort to protect what you spend time and focus on you will be open to being influenced by external forces that can hurt you along your Christian path.

Spend some time this week looking at where you are spending time, what you are consistently focusing on, and if you have blocked out time in your day with God.

These things will help you guard your heart and mind as you step into each day.


Question for you? How do you guard your heart and mind as a Christian? 

Leave a comment


Prayer for the week

I’m so thankful, Lord, that our relationship grows closer every day. You are so awesome and your presence makes me happy and secure. As I enjoy being with You I know that You will give me the desires of my heart. I want to be in Your perfect will, see my family and loved ones saved, be a good witness for you, have a closer walk with you, live in divine health and wholeness, and be blessed in every area of my life, in Jesus name, Amen.


PS. If you would like to support us consider checking out www.litwithprayer.com and picking up our devotional prayer journal to our new pieces of Christian-based Jewelry.

Do you know Jesus?

If you have never asked Jesus to be the leader of your life and forgive you of all your sins, this is the right time to act. Pray this simple prayer and believe it in your heart: “Dear God, Your Word says that You loved me so much that You sent Your Son Jesus to die on the cross for me. I want to be saved and have all my sins forgiven, past, present, and future. Forgive me now as I receive Jesus as my personal Lord and Savior. You promised me salvation and an abundant life. I believe and receive Your free gift. Fill me with Your Holy Spirit and help me grow stronger in You each day, in Jesus name I pray, Amen.” (John 3:16)

3 Comments
Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Sharing Bible Stories, Personal Development Tips, and Prayers to help you continue to grow closer to God.