Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Persistence Pays
2
0:00
-3:17

Persistence Pays

Luke 18:1-8
2

Persistence Pays: Luke 18:1-8

Jesus made a statement that people ought always to pray and not to lose heart. He spoke in a parable to illustrate the value of persistence. In this story, there is a widow who wanted justice against an adversary. This widow went to a judge in a certain city to ask for justice. In Jewish law, widows were given special protection under the justice system.

The book of Luke states that the judge did not fear God nor regard man. The widow came to him saying “Avenge me of my adversary.” Although he had the power to grant the widow her justice, he would not do it. However, he changed his mind and said to himself, “Though I do not fear God nor regard man, I will avenge her, so that she’ll stop coming to me continually to ask for justice and make me weary.

Jesus called him the “unjust judge” because he did not fear God nor regard man. He wasn’t interested in helping people, like this widow, find justice. He knew that this woman’s determination would keep her coming and make him weary. Jesus points out if an unjust judge avenged this woman, how much more will God avenge His own people who cry out day and night to Him, even though it may take a while. Finally, Jesus says “When the Son of Man comes, will He find faith on the earth?

Our prayers may not get an immediate answer, but God wants us to have a consistent prayer life. It takes faith to continue to pray and believe that God is faithful to His Word. The Bible says to pray without ceasing, ask, seek, and knock and we would receive, find, and have the door opened, Only God can bring us true justice. Don’t give up, keep praying and believing. (I Thess. 5:17; Matthew 7:7)

Personal Development Tip of the week: 

What is one thing you want to focus on for the month of November? It could be your prayer life, fitness routine, or even giving up a bad habit.

Every new month gives us the opportunity to grow in an area of our lives that we would like to improve upon.

If you are up for this challenge let me know in the comments section of this newsletter what you want to improve upon this month! 

Prayer for the week:  

Thank you Lord that I am blessed every day, not because I deserve it or earned it, but because Jesus paid the price for me. I walk in your favor because you go before me, you are with me, and you never leave me or give up on me. I have no reason to be afraid and when I am tempted to take on fear, I will tell it to go away in Jesus name, Amen! 

-Dayne 

PS. If you would like to support us consider checking out www.litwithprayer.com and picking up our devotional prayer journal to our new pieces of Christian-based Jewelry.

2 Comments
Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Sharing Bible Stories, Personal Development Tips, and Prayers to help you continue to grow closer to God.