Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Take Lessons from the Shrewd
6
0:00
-7:05

Take Lessons from the Shrewd

Luke 16: 1-9
6

Take Lessons from the Shrewd: Luke 16: 1-9

Jesus was a storyteller who spoke in parables to get His message across. Many of these parables were simple, but had truths that were hidden. When the disciples (followers of Christ, not just the twelve) wanted to get a deeper understanding, Jesus would explain the meaning of the parables.  What is interesting, is today as you and I read the Word of God, we may come across a parable that we don’t quite understand based on what we read.

In Luke, Jesus tells the story of a certain rich man who had a steward (business manager), who was in charge of the resources of his boss including all of his business affairs of selling and collecting payments for his boss. This steward was not doing his job. He was accused of wasting his boss’s resources. His boss calls him in for accounting so he can fire him.

The steward knows he’s going to get fired, and he says to himself, “What shall I do? My boss is going to fire me, I cannot dig and do manual work, and I am too embarrassed to beg.” He comes up with a plan to secure his future. He goes to all of his boss’s debtors and asks each one how much they owe. One said, “a hundred measures of wheat.” He tells him to take the bill and write eighty. Another says, “a hundred measures of oil.” He tells him to write fifty on the bill.

The plan was to discount all of the debtors’ bills so when he loses his job, the debtors will feel obligated to help him out. He did them a favor and saved them a lot of money, and now it would be their turn to do him a favor and provide for his livelihood.

Now, you would think that the boss would be very upset that the steward had discounted the bills. On the contrary, he actually praised the dishonest (unjust) manager for acting shrewdly and prudently or wisely. Jesus goes on to say that the sons of this age are more wise or shrewd than the sons of light or those that serve God and do what is right. The unjust manager was thinking ahead and made a plan to secure his future.

Jesus was saying that this steward knew he was going to be fired for wasting his boss’s resources, but made friends with those that could help him in the future. He was smart. As followers of Jesus, we have resources as well. God has given us our lives, bodies, minds, gifts, talents, time, and the ability to work and earn money. We are stewards or managers of what God has given us. We have probably wasted some of those resources on our own selfish desires and needs without thinking of the future.

God wants us to be wise and use our talents, time, and treasure while we are on the earth, but also think about God’s kingdom and what we are doing to expand it. Use what God has given you and think about the future. Use wisdom to turn your negative situation around, and also use your resources to help spread the gospel so that more people will be saved and they will be your friends forever.

Not subscribed? Subscribe below so you never miss a newsletter!

Thanks for reading Litwithprayer Newsletter! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.


Personal Development Tip of the week: 

Your labels could be limiting you. Now, what do I mean by label? Can you remember a time in your life when you were a kid and you got a poor grade on a test or in a class and you said something along the lines of, “I guess I'm just not good at “Insert Subject”.

At that very moment, you are putting a label on yourself which can greatly limit your life. Said in another way, “The words you attach to your experience, become your experience”. This is why it’s so important to be careful of the words you speak over your life because they have power within them.

In the book of James chapter 3, we learn that blessings and cursings come out of the mouth so you must be aware of what you say and be wise to speak blessings not curses over your life. 

What are some labels you have given to yourself that have limited your life? Maybe you have said…

  • I’m not smart

  • I’m always sad

  • I’m a depressed person

  • I have no energy

  • I will never attract the significant other

Just because some things have not worked out at times does not mean you are those experiences. This is why you have to remember who the bible and God says you are.

I’ve listed a few below you can remember and speak over your life whenever you need it.

  • You are His beloved child 1 John 3:1

  • You are His masterpiece Ephesians 2:10

  • You are made in His image Genesis 1:26-27

  • You are a new person in Jesus Christ 2 Corinthians 5:17 

  • You are exceedingly Loved Romans 5:8 

Lastly, remember your words have power so be wise in choosing what you speak over your life because whatever you repeatedly say about your life becomes your life. 

Question for you? What is a label you have given to yourself often that you need to stop speaking over your life?

Leave a comment


Prayer for the week:

Father God, sometimes I struggle in the area of believing. Your Word says all things are possible to him/her who believes. I’m trying to believe, but I need Your help. I know I cannot do it in my own strength, so I give You what I have, as small as it may be, believing that You will strengthen my faith and I will see my healing, my miracle, my goals and dreams come to pass and I thank You, in Jesus name, Amen. 

PS. If you would like to support us consider checking out www.litwithprayer.com and picking up our devotional prayer journal to our new pieces of Christian-based Jewelry.

Do you know Jesus?

If you have never asked Jesus to be the leader of your life and forgive you of all your sins, this is the right time to act. Pray this simple prayer and believe it in your heart: “Dear God, Your Word says that You loved me so much that You sent Your Son Jesus to die on the cross for me. I want to be saved and have all my sins forgiven, past, present, and future. Forgive me now as I receive Jesus as my personal Lord and Savior. You promised me salvation and an abundant life. I believe and receive Your free gift. Fill me with Your Holy Spirit and help me grow stronger in You each day, in Jesus name I pray, Amen.” (John 3:16)

6 Comments
Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Sharing Bible Stories, Personal Development Tips, and Prayers to help you continue to grow closer to God.