Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
The Rich Young Ruler
6
0:00
-5:49

The Rich Young Ruler

Mark 10:17-27
6

The Rich Young Ruler -  Mark 10:17-27

“All these (God’s commandments) I have kept,” the young man said. “What do I still lack?” (Matt. 19:16) These were the words of the rich young ruler who ran up to Jesus, knelt before Him, and asked what he should do to inherit eternal life.

Jesus went through many of the commandments, “do not commit adultery, do not lie, do not steal, do not murder, honor mother and father, love your neighbor as yourself,” of which the rich young ruler said, “all these have I done.”  Here the young man states that he has been doing all of the right things since he was a youth.

Jesus loved this young man and He told him that he lacked one thing. Jesus told him to go and sell his possessions, give the money to the poor, and to come and follow Him. Jesus told him he would have treasure in heaven. Why did Jesus tell him to do this?

The young man wanted to know what he needed to do. Jesus gave him something to do, but it was something that he truly didn’t want to do because his wealth and possessions were more important to him than to give them up to follow Jesus.  Jesus revealed what was in the heart of this young man, who thought his performance of keeping the laws and commandments since he was young, and perhaps he thought his wealth and stature in the community was proof of his “good and righteous” living.

This young man knew he needed something because he ran, knelt, and asked Jesus for the answer.  Did he want reassurance from Jesus that he was righteous and he would have eternal life? How many of us think that we are going to heaven because we live a “good” life and we do “good” deeds or we are very “religious?”

Compare this young wealthy ruler with Zaccheus who climbed a tree to see Jesus when people were all around Him. Zaccheus was a tax collector who made his money off the people and he was hated by them. He cheated them out of their money because of his position as a tax collector. When Jesus went to have dinner with him in his home, Jesus didn’t tell him to do anything with his wealth, but Zaccheus had a change of heart and said in Luke 19:8-10:

8 But Zacchaeus stood up and said to the Lord, “Look, Lord! Here and now I give half of my possessions to the poor, and if I have cheated anybody out of anything, I will pay back four times the amount.”

9 Jesus said to him, “Today salvation has come to this house, because this man, too, is a son of Abraham. 10 For the Son of Man came to seek and to save the lost.”

What a difference. Jesus looks at the heart and He wants us to have a change from the inside out. Jesus came to let us know that we are all lost without Him. We can’t earn our way to heaven or be good enough.


Not subscribed? Subscribe below so you never miss a newsletter!

Thanks for reading Litwithprayer Weekly! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.


Personal Development Tip of the week: 

Let’s talk about effective decision-making.

I want to specifically talk about making big decisions in your life that you feel either option you choose could be right.

These are some of the hardest decisions you will have to make that come up at many different times in your life.

Maybe for you, it’s been the decision to take a certain job over another. Maybe it’s been the decision to move to a new place. Whatever the decision maybe it’s sometimes difficult to fully understand which option is going to best serve your best.

In any hard decision like this what helps me most is first understanding that I’m never going to fully know what the outcome of making the decision will be and to let go of trying to control every aspect of it. This is why your faith is so important in these times because If I believe that God is always for me then I also believe that he is going to bless me and protect me following my decision.

Before I make a big decision I will also bring that decision to God through prayer and asking him for guidance. If I give myself enough time to sit and pray about the decision I will start to feel God’s presence directing me towards one more than the other.

Proverbs 3:5-6, says, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And not lean on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.”

I love this verse because many times you just need to get out of your own headspace and get into God’s presence to find the answer.

Challenge yourself this week if you are struggling to make a decision to get into God’s presence through prayer and let Him guide and direct you. 


Question for you? What are some ways that have helped you make big decisions in your life? 

Leave a comment


Prayer for the week

Thank You Father, that every morning when I wake up Your mercies of compassion, kindness, and goodness towards me are new. I can celebrate each day that You have given me and be filled with gladness and joy knowing that You love me and will always be with me. Give me a great day where I can share Your love with others as well, in Jesus name, Amen. 


PS. If you would like to support us consider checking out www.litwithprayer.com and picking up our devotional prayer journal to our new pieces of Christian-based Jewelry.

Do you know Jesus?

If you have never asked Jesus to be the leader of your life and forgive you of all your sins, this is the right time to act. Pray this simple prayer and believe it in your heart: “Dear God, Your Word says that You loved me so much that You sent Your Son Jesus to die on the cross for me. I want to be saved and have all my sins forgiven, past, present, and future. Forgive me now as I receive Jesus as my personal Lord and Savior. You promised me salvation and an abundant life. I believe and receive Your free gift. Fill me with Your Holy Spirit and help me grow stronger in You each day, in Jesus name I pray, Amen.” (John 3:16)

6 Comments
Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Sharing Bible Stories, Personal Development Tips, and Prayers to help you continue to grow closer to God.