Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
The Story of Mephibosheth
2
0:00
-6:38

The Story of Mephibosheth

(2 Samuel 9)
2

The Story of Mephibosheth  (2 Samuel 9)

The Old Testament gives us a historical account of God’s chosen people, the Jews, starting from creation with the first Adam and ending before the birth of Jesus Christ, the second Adam. God’s grace and mercy is illustrated throughout the Old Testament in the many recorded stories.

Last week we highlighted the story of David and King Saul. There were many accounts of King Saul going after David to kill him. Although there were two recorded stories where David could have killed King Saul, he never took advantage of those opportunities and allowed God to work in His timing.

David became king after King Saul and his sons were killed in battle against their enemy, the Philistines.  David’s best friend was Jonathan, Saul’s son, who was also killed that day. When news of Saul and Jonathan’s death was known, Jonathan’s son named Mephibosheth, who was five years old at the time, was taken by his nurse to a safe location. Unfortunately, as the nurse was running with Mephibosheth, the boy fell and became lame in his legs. They stayed in hiding because they feared that David would kill Mephibosheth if he found out that he was alive. Traditionally a new king would kill the family of the old king so no one would try to get the throne back. King David did not follow these traditions, but some who served King David took it upon themselves to seek out family members and kill them. When David found out he had those men executed.

As the new king, David inherited all of King Saul’s possessions and lands because there was no one left alive from the house of Saul that David knew. Years later, David asked his staff if there was anyone alive from the house of Saul that he could show kindness for Jonathan’s sake. There was a servant named Ziba from the house of Saul that spoke up and told David about Mephibosheth.  David had him brought to the palace.

When Mephibosheth was in David’s presence, David told him not to be afraid and told him that he would restore all of his grandfather Saul’s possessions and land. Mephibosheth, who was still lame in his legs, fell forward bowing on the ground, and said “ What is your servant, that you should look upon such a dead dog as I?” David instructed  Ziba to take his sons and servants and farm the land for Mephibosheth and take care of everything for him.

David’s other request was that Mephibosheth dine at his table every night like a king's son. So from that time on, Mephibosheth went from poverty and hiding, to a rich inheritance of land, possessions, servants, and a place of honor at the king’s table. Mephibosheth didn’t earn these blessings and he had nothing to offer. Even when he heard David speak he considered himself like a dead dog. He was given back these blessings because David had a close relationship with his father and had promised him at one time that he would take care of his family if anything should happen to him.

This story is important because it is recorded in the second book of Samuel for our sake. David was a man after God’s own heart. He loved God and did his best to do the right thing. Because of his relationship with Jonathan, he had respect for King Saul, did not avenge himself even though Saul was trying to kill him. King David showed grace and mercy to Mephibosheth who could not do anything for him, did not earn it, and had no power or riches. Grace and mercy was extended because of Jonathan, his father. How much more should we embrace God’s grace and mercy towards us because of our relationship with Jesus? We cannot earn God’s goodness because it is a free gift if we receive it.  Understanding how much God loves us will help us trust Him and receive his goodness and grace. (John 3:16)


Not subscribed? Subscribe below so you never miss a newsletter!

Thanks for reading Litwithprayer Newsletter! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.


Personal Development Tip of the week: 

How to avoid the comparison trap. One thing that will rob your joy almost faster than anything else is comparing your life to someone else's.

So how do you avoid falling into this trap as you are building your life? One thing I like to remember for myself that helps me stay focused on my own journey is that I’m not competing with anyone but myself.

I’m not here to compare my relationship with God to someone else's nor what I choose to do with my career. God made you in his image with specific gifts, talents, and a calling on your life for something great so why look outside of yourself to others who might have something that you don’t have yet. Just because you don’t have the thing that someone else has right now in their life doesn’t mean you are never going to attain it. And maybe it’s something you would be better without. 

To compare your life to someone else’s is an unfair perspective since you don’t know everything about that person's life in the first place. Do you think God would want you to rob yourself of the one life you get while you are here?

There is nothing wrong to follow other people and their journey but do it because it inspires you to reach for more not to judge, condemn, and complain. I like to think of my life as a single-player game that I’m playing with one guide, God, who helps me along my unique journey. And as I discover new things and grow I have more to give into others people's lives I meet along the way.

Question for you? What’s one thing you do to keep you from comparing your life to others? 

Leave a comment


Prayer for the week: 

Father God, thank you for this new day and for what you have in store for me this week. Bless me this week to maximize my potential, step into my purpose, and work on my character so that I can be a strong leader for others in Jesus name Amen. 

PS. If you would like to support us consider checking out www.litwithprayer.com and picking up our devotional prayer journal to our new pieces of Christian-based Jewelry.

Do you know Jesus?

If you have never asked Jesus to be the leader of your life and forgive you of all your sins, this is the right time to act. Pray this simple prayer and believe it in your heart: “Dear God, Your Word says that You loved me so much that You sent Your Son Jesus to die on the cross for me. I want to be saved and have all my sins forgiven, past, present, and future. Forgive me now as I receive Jesus as my personal Lord and Savior. You promised me salvation and an abundant life. I believe and receive Your free gift. Fill me with Your Holy Spirit and help me grow stronger in You each day, in Jesus name I pray, Amen.” (John 3:16)

2 Comments
Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Sharing Bible Stories, Personal Development Tips, and Prayers to help you continue to grow closer to God.