Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
The Tower of Babel
6
0:00
-5:16

The Tower of Babel

6

The Tower of Babel (Genesis 11:1:9)

Have you ever wondered why there are so many different languages around the world? Without an interpreter or technology could an English-speaking person communicate effectively with a Chinese-speaking person? In the book of Genesis, we have an account of what happened.

After the massive flood that killed everyone except Noah and his family, God blessed Noah and his sons (Shem, Ham, and Japheth and their three wives) and said, “Be fruitful and multiply, and fill the earth.” Noah lived 950 years and his descendants lived many hundreds of years as well. As new generations were born their life spans would be shortened.

A few generations after the flood, there was still one language among all the people. As they traveled east, they found a plain in the land of Shinar and decided to settle there. They decided to build a city and a tower whose top would be in the heavens. They were not building it for the glory of God, but instead, to make a name for themselves and not be displaced around the earth. The Lord saw what was going on and said, “Behold, the people are one, and they all have one language; and this they begin to do: and now nothing will be restrained from them, which they have imagined to do. Let Us go down and there confuse their language, that they may not understand one another’s speech.”  The Lord scattered them abroad based on their separate languages and the building project ceased. The name of that place became known as “Babel” or as we know, the Tower of Babel, which means “confusion.”

There are two interesting points about this story. First, what was the motive behind the building of the tower? The people wanted to erect this structure for themselves. One of the sins that God abhors is the sin of pride. It was the motivation behind Satan's fall as the chief archangel of the Lord. Satan wanted to be like God and be worshiped. Proverbs 8:13 states, “Pride and arrogance…, I hate."

The other interesting point is what God said to Noah and his sons. He told them to multiply and fill the earth. Instead, the descendants of Noah decide to stay together and build the city and tower. God said, “Behold, the people are one, and they have all one language; and this they begin to do: and now nothing will be restrained from them, which they have imagined to do.”  Their knowledge of building may have been far more advanced than we know. They had the ability to do whatever they could imagine as a united group, even though they were not obeying God’s instructions.

The takeaway is to follow God’s instructions and be humble. Give God the glory in all you do. Whatever we can imagine, we can accomplish it if it is God’s will. And we know God’s will through the Word of God by believing and receiving the promises that are written. Find your promise for your dream, but remain humble in your journey. God loves you so much and He has a great plan for your life. (John 3:16; Jer. 29:11-12)


Not subscribed? Subscribe below so you never miss a newsletter!

Thanks for reading Litwithprayer Newsletter! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.


Personal Development Tip of the week: 

Let’s talk about patience. I want to talk about patience today because I believe having patience in your life towards all things is an undervalued asset for many. I say this because we live in a day in age where speed seems to be everything.

Do you ever feel like you’re running out of time? You are not far enough along in your career, you haven’t found “the one” yet? Whatever it may be let me offer you a distinction that has helped me be more patient in my life.

Who gets to decide when you have to have something let's say, “figured out?” The answer is YOU, only you can decide on that for yourself. However, the world is great at telling us we need to be somewhere by some time to feel, “successful, made it, happy,”.

Remember, we get our identity in Christ and Christ alone, no one else, and God’s timing for our life is perfect and complete. 

Lastly, comparing your life to others will be one of the biggest challenges you encounter in making your relationship with patience hard because whenever you compare your life to someone else, you rob yourself of your own unique God-given life and path.

The only person I want to compare myself to is who I was yesterday and did Improve from there. That set’s me up to enjoy the journey and let God direct and lead my life on his time not just my own.

Question for you? What’s one thing in your life right now you need to have more patience about?


Prayer for the week: 

Father God, thank you for the new day and week ahead of me. Bless me this week to be patient with your plans for my life while also being persistent in my day-to-day actions on moving your plan forward. I trust you and know your timing for my life is perfect and you have great things coming my way this week. Bless me, guide me, protect me this week in Jesus name Amen. 


PS. If you would like to support us consider checking out www.litwithprayer.com and picking up our devotional prayer journal to our new pieces of Christian-based Jewelry.

Shop Our Store Here


Do you know Jesus?

If you have never asked Jesus to be the leader of your life and forgive you of all your sins, this is the right time to act. Pray this simple prayer and believe it in your heart: “Dear God, Your Word says that You loved me so much that You sent Your Son Jesus to die on the cross for me. I want to be saved and have all my sins forgiven, past, present, and future. Forgive me now as I receive Jesus as my personal Lord and Savior. You promised me salvation and an abundant life. I believe and receive Your free gift. Fill me with Your Holy Spirit and help me grow stronger in You each day, in Jesus name I pray, Amen.” (John 3:16)

6 Comments
Litwithprayer Weekly
Litwithprayer Podcast
Sharing Bible Stories, Personal Development Tips, and Prayers to help you continue to grow closer to God.